Who are your Councillors?

Colton Parish Council consists of 9 councillors working to help our community, with 3 councillors working in each of the 3 wards within the parish. Councillors are supported by the Parish Clerk who is also the Responsible Financial Officer.

East Ward – Finsthwaite & Lakeside

Cllr John Taylor Image coming soon

​Cllr John Taylor

Joined 2019

Register of interests

Contact details:

Send an email:

Information coming soon.

Cllr Graham Jarvis - East Ward Councillor

Cllr Graham Jarvis

Joined 2017

Register of Interests
Phone: 01229 860622

Graham moved to Rusland in 2014, having previously spent much of his free times in Coniston. He was brought up on a farm in Suffolk and his wife’s family is from Langdale. Graham qualified as a Probation Officer working mainly with the youth court, children’s rights and child protection. Graham has two children; both working abroad. His interests include natural history, rural matters, bee keeping, literature, art and classic cars.


There is currently a vacancy in East Ward, Finsthwaite and Lakeside, please contact the Parish Clerk if you are interested in being co-opted onto the Parish Council

Central Ward – Bouth & Rusland

Cllr Marion Brown - Central Ward Councillor

Cllr Marion Brown

Joined 2017

Register of Interests
Phone: 01229 861690

Marion was born in Lanarkshire in Scotland and now lives in Bouth. She is recently retired after working in the insurance industry for 30 years. Marion is actively involved in the community as; board member and trustee for Rusland Horizons Trust, secretary for Bouth Village Green, committee member of Bouth WI. Marion enjoys walking, wildlife spotting, travelling and writing children’s novels.

Cllr Ken Dean - Chairman of Colton Parish Council - Central Ward Councillor

Cllr Ken Dean

Joined 2008

Register of Interests
Phone: 01229 861435

Ken was born in Accrington and has lived in Bouth since 1975. He is married to Sue who has lived in Bouth for most of her life and has two daughters who were educated at local schools. He is a Chartered Accountant and prior to retiring was a Finance Director at Kimberly Clark Europe. He is a member of both Bouth Village Hall and Bouth Village Green committees. Ken’s interests include playing golf and gardening. In the past he has been a governor of Cartmel Priory School and ran the local Leven valley football team.


There is currently a vacancy in Central Ward, Bouth and Rusland Valley, please contact the Parish Clerk if you are interested in being co-opted onto the Parish Council

West Ward – Colton, Oxen Park, Nibthwaite & Spark Bridge

Abigail Bennett - West Ward Councillor

Abigail Bennett (Chair of the Parish Council)

Joined 2019

Register of interests

Abigail has lived in Spark Bridge since 2005. She has been actively involved in the community, particularly local schools, for much of that time. She loves the outdoors and is an enthusiastic walker, runner and swimmer. She feels extremely fortunate to live in such a beautiful part of the world and cares passionately about our local environment and communities. Abigail has worked in both the voluntary and public sector and currently works for Citizens Advice.


There are currently two vacancies in West Ward, Spark Bridge, Nibthwaite and Colton, please contact the Parish Clerk if you are interested in being co-opted onto the Parish Council

Parish Clerk

Julie Hendry - Parish Clerk

Julie Hendry

Joined 2019

Email: Send an Email

Julie is an ex-NHS scientist and manager who took early retirement to spend more time in the Lakes, she now lives in Windermere and enjoys scuba diving and walking which she gets plenty of chance to do in the Lakes!

Westmorland and Furness Councillor

Cllr Suzanne Pender

Elected 2023

Phone: 07501 806298
Email: Send an Email

Skip to content